Rings of iron

Jed2_h300_020862_med

I love the physicality of these rings that are strong enough to hold ships to the river’s edge. Someone made these rings, someone with much skill and experience. The fine steel and brightly-coloured feather of a fishing fly within the ring emphasises the size and weight of it. 

When I was an undergraduate, I was taught to weld by a master blacksmith who showed us a smaller, thick ring that he had welded as a demonstration of his skills. I remain impressed by the memory of that demonstration piece and would love to have seen how he made it. In another life, I would have been a blacksmith. Metal is probably the material type that I have enjoyed using most. Iron and copper have been my favourite metals to work. I miss working with metal.

2 thoughts on “Rings of iron

Leave a Reply

